The main objective of The Astronomical Society of Glasgow is to promote an interest in Astronomy. Membership of the Society is open to everyone; and all ages are welcomed. While the lecture program is free, its only a small part of what the Society offers. By joining the Society, all the extra benefits below are available.

  • Access to the Acre Road observatory twice a month from October through to March where you can use the computer driven 16" Meade LX200 telescope, and learn a little more about observing, and hopefully if the skies are clear see some fantastic views of some of the amazing sights the universe has to offer.
  • Darker skies observing evenings held at Mugdock Country Park just outside Glasgow where we have slightly darker skies to observe under. Members bring along their own telescopes, and the Society's telescopes are available for members to look through. So if you're looking to purchase a new telescope, this could be the best way to try out many different scopes under darker skies and ask all the questions you want to from people who own the scopes!
  • Darker Skies weekend, held at Blencathra Fields Studies Centre, outside Keswick in the Lake District, where some of the darkest skies in Scotland can be found. A truly fantastic weekend of observing, that is only available to members.
  • Monthly Newsletter

All these extra benefits are available with membership to the Astronomical Society of Glasgow. Membership costs £20 per year for over 16s, and is free for 16s and under.

Please note that the Society is in the process of transitioning from the old ASG to our new form as a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (or SCIO for short) which will be called "The Astronomical Society of Glasgow SCIO" registered charity number SC049446.  The old ASG has been dissolved with the permission of the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR), hence the application form being removed, and the new ASG SCIO will be ready to accept membership applications from shortly before the start of the 2020-21 session in September in a few months.  Please check back then to download the new membership application form.

Members' only events are only visible in the ASG Calendar section once you have logged in.

Please be assured that the personal information supplied by you to the Society is treated confidentially and is used purely for administrative purposes and will not be disclosed to any third party. Also note that although membership for Junior members (16 and under) is free, we do still need a completed membership form so we can send you our Newsletter and membership card.

Buying a Telescope

Beginners considering the purchase of a telescope should definitely read the general introduction from "Buying Your First Telescope" guide from Sky at Night magazine. Once that information has been digested, there are some good sites that recommend specific telescopes for beginners:

For anyone interested in the potential for amateur radio astronomy, a very interesting discussion of the possibilities is hosted by the British Astronomical Association.


The Go Stargazing website is a useful resource, publicising stargazing events, with guidance on the best locations and what you can expect to see.

Other Software and Websites

Stellarium is a free open source planetarium for your computer.  It shows a realistic sky as you would see with the naked eye, binoculars or a telescope.  Runs on Mac OS X, Linux and Windows.

Virtual Moon Atlas used by more than 750 000 persons all over the world. Used in several books, magazines, observatories, universities, Web sites and blogs. Used in Chandrayaan 1 lunar mission preparation. Recommended by the European Space Agency (ESA) and the French Ministry of National Education.  Available for Mac OS X, Linux and Windows.

Celestia is free space simulation software that lets you explore our universe in three dimensions. Celestia runs on Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X.

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory - information on all NASA JPL unmanned missions.  JPL also run The Theodore von Kármán Lecture Series every month.  This page has information on upcoming lectures and an archive of previously shown webcasts.

NASA Eclipse website - information on past and future solar and lunar eclipses, including the partial Solar Eclipse visible from Scotland on Friday 20th March 2015.

Astronomy Picture of the Day (APOD) - Each day a different image or photograph of our fascinating universe is featured, along with a brief explanation written by a professional astronomer.

Stargazers Lounge - popular amateur astronomy website, forum and source of information and advice.

Space Weather - news and information about the Sun-Earth environment.

NOAA / NWS Space Weather Prediction Center - the US government's official space weather site.

The BBC The Sky at Night magazine website - astronomy news, equipment reviews and information.

The Astronomical Society of Glasgow is the largest Astronomical Society in Scotland, and is dedicated to promoting an interest in Astronomy.

The Society has been promoting Astronomy in Glasgow for over 100 years.  Membership of the Society is open to all; and anyone, even with the vaguest interests in Astronomy, is welcome to find out what the Society is about.

We are a member of the British Association of Planetaria, affiliated to the British Astronomical Association and the Scottish Astronomers' Group.  The society is a member of the Federation of Astronomical Societies, and is a registered Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (Charity Number SC049446).

The Society holds nine regular monthly lecture meetings from September through to May each year. Lectures are held in the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow city centre at 7.30pm, normally on the third Thursday of each month, however this does occasionally change to allow us to welcome some of our speakers who have busy schedules.
All topics of Astronomy are covered in the lectures from Planetary Science to Astrophotography and The Search for Life Beyond Earth. The lectures are free and are open to members and non-members alike. Prior to each meeting a Newsletter is circulated to the Membership giving details of the speaker, the lecture topic and other matters of timely interest.

We also have a number of observing evenings for our members, where we can take advantage of the 16" Meade LX200 telescope at University of Glasgow's Acre Road observatory, as well as some darker skies observing evenings at Mugdock country park just outside Glasgow.

The Society is also involved in a number of outreach events, bringing Astronomy to the people of Glasgow and further afield. At these events we provide a number of telescopes and the knowledge of the members to assist the public to look through them to see the craters on the moon, planets and distant stars. If the skies aren't clear on a particular evening, then we will share our knowledge with presentations and talks on various astronomy topics.

You can also find us on Facebook and on Twitter. Log on to see what we're doing there!

See you there,
The ASG.